Upgrade i5 3570k?

Lobialkon

Reputable
Apr 2, 2014
Hello everyone!

Here is the thing, i've been running with my i5 3570k and a Gigabyte Z77-D3H for around 2 years now (maybe a little more).

Its a great cpu and i love it, but the thing i hate is my motherboard. Around one year ago, 2 of the 4 ram sockets stopped working for no apparent reason, which is sad because i lost the dual channel in the process, more than once the bios crashed on me (dont know how or why either) and since the moment i bought it, i hated with all my heart the sound card and drivers (cant stress this enough).

So i said hey, lets sell or dump this one and buy a new one, but i cant find good motherboard with that socket in my country, and i cant buy it outside because of limitations. All the boards i find are quite lackluster and some of them are not even ready for overclock.

So i dont know what to do, i would much preffer to sell both the motherboard and the cpu at a reasonable price and with a little bit extra money buy a new combo, but the thing is, everywhere i read, there is no intel cpu that "upgrades" the i5 3570k.

What do you guys think i should do? should i upgrade to a new generation? should i stick with my cpu and buy one of the many shitty motherboards i find here? Should i keep with my setup untill the motherboard stops working in a couple years?

Thanks in advance for your answers!

Solution
Well depending on availability and pricing in your area, the i5 4690k is the predecessor to the i5 3570k, but the brand new i5 6600k (skylake) will be the latest and greatest.

rowdymoody

Honorable
Jan 16, 2013
I would advise that you just stick with your 3570k. It would be a shame to have to upgrade because an i5 3570k is a good chip, and plenty capable even today. What country do you live in? Perhaps we can help you find a good motherboard for your chip.

Lobialkon

Reputable
Apr 2, 2014