Upgrade to WIndows 10 on SSD

Status
Not open for further replies.

christianelliott

Honorable
Mar 8, 2012
Hi,

I've been running Windows 7 for several years on my HDD, and I've recently purchased a new Samsung 850 evo SSD. I'd like to do the free upgrade to Windows 10 on my SSD and use it as my main drive while keeping documents, pictures, etc on my HDD. Is there any way to change my Windows directory to the new SSD and some programs while keeping others on the HDD. I'd prefer to not have to do an install from scratch on the SSD.

Thanks

Solution
The 850 comes with migration software that works really well. Run the software to migrate everything to the SSD. Boot the SSD, make sure everything is there, the format the HDD and move all your documents, pictures, etc on to it. From there you can redirect the libraries in Windows to look at the HDD. Then do your upgrade to Windows 10. That way even if the upgrade crashes and burns and you have to start from scratch your data is already on a separate disk.
The 850 comes with migration software that works really well. Run the software to migrate everything to the SSD. Boot the SSD, make sure everything is there, the format the HDD and move all your documents, pictures, etc on to it. From there you can redirect the libraries in Windows to look at the HDD. Then do your upgrade to Windows 10. That way even if the upgrade crashes and burns and you have to start from scratch your data is already on a separate disk.

Solution

christianelliott

Honorable
Mar 8, 2012

The SSD is definitely not big enough to move everything onto. I was thinking I could use my old Windows 7 disk to reinstall onto the SSD, then upgrade there, install the HDD again and delete the old Windows files off of it. Would that work as well?