"upgrading" an old HP M8277C

Feb 26, 2018
Good day all. I don't see a "general PC questions" sub-forum, so hopefully this is placed correctly.

I've got an old HP media pc, M8277C:https://support.hp.com/ca-en/document/c01175532

Mobo is an Asus, IPIBL-LA (Berkley). chip specs/upgrades are listed as :

Socket type: 775
Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6xx0 with Quad Core technology up to Q6600 (Kentsfield)
Core 2 Duo E6x00 up to E6850 or E6700 (Conroe)
Core 2 Duo E4x00 up to E4400 (Conroe)

I've owned it since new. Was great way back when on vista, slowed down as the years went on (win 7 helped it a bit) and now I know it's well past "end of life" for a PC (slow as molasses on Win 10).

But the old clunker just keeps processing along, albiet painfully slow.

I'm looking at building an office desk for a new house we are building (I'm a bit of a woodworker) and I'd like to integrate a PC into the desk. The hidden monitor, PC built in, etc type of deal. I'd like to press the M8277C into service, at least to set up the desk and keep initial costs down.

I've already swapped out the HDD for an SDD and boot time on windows 10 pro N (clean install) dropped to 15 seconds! Holy crap! I never expected to drop that much! The old clunker is actually pretty enjoyable to use again!

The orignal geoforce 8400 gs went south, I had to pull it out a while back and toss it. Corrupted somehow. I'm currently using the on board graphics, which actually doesn't seem too bad for my uses. But I find myself in the market for a card that will work in this mobo, but worthwhile transferring to a new rig, or one that would be cheap enough that I could toss it when I build a new rig for the "in desk" PC. I was thinking something like an old GTS 450 or quantum 2000 video card might work for the interim and be relatively cheap to pick up (25-50 bucks). Recommendations would be welcome.