[SOLVED] Upgrading core components and need advice and info on keeping data

Aug 9, 2019
I am changing my motherboard, CPU and ram type and size. I want to know if there are any precautions or what i can do with regards to keeping all of my data on an HDD and not having to clean reinstall windows on my OS dedicated SSD (that has a few games and programs on).
Are there any things i have to do before hand, this is my first time doing a large upgrade so anything like; uninstalling drivers. or removing the game HDD before hand etc.
Further into the future i am also changing my graphics card, are there any extra tips you could give me on that also.

I am easily capable (i hope) on the hardware aspects, but dont want to ruin my data and spend weeks reinstalling games and programs and losing irreplaceable files.

Current build:
CPU: amd fx 8350 w/ aftermarket cooler
GPU: gtx 1050ti
8gb of ddr3 ram
OS dedicated SSD and 1tb HDD for games and programs

Upgrading to
i5 9600k
asus TUF Z370-plus gaming II motherboard
16gb of DDR4 3200MHz corsair ram

soon after, I will be getting a gtx 1660ti
if anyone can recommend any better or more suitable upgrade for me (at a similar same price) I would also appreciate that
Thanks in advance

Solution
Unknown about other game launchers. You'll have to look into those.

As mentioned above, have that drive disconnected during this process.
Keeping data is easy, just ensure it is on a drive that is not plugged into the new machine until after the windows install.

Not reinstalling is tricky, windows has installed loads of settings for your hardware, changing to completely different hardware will generally mean the OS won't run, or will run with issues.

Clean install is the only way to be safe.

DSzymborski

Titan