Sep 16, 2019
current build: i5 7600 /
asrock b150 pro 4 /
samsung DDR4 16gb ram 2400 MHz (1 stick) /
Galax gtx 1070 EXOC sniper white /
250gb ssd / 1TB HDD /
corsair CX600 /
coolermaster Hypter T4

I want to upgrade to AMD ryzen 7 3700x and any new mobo that supports the chipset for the 3700x (don't really care which model just not top of the line expensive stuff). I'm a total noob about pc building so bare with me. Will i run into any problems using the 1070 with an AMD cpu? Also is my current RAM compatible with a new mobo? When i bought the computer it came with windows installed alrdy but i didnt pay for it. A few months later my pc kept saying "your windows license will expire soon" and the guy who built it sent me a windows key code and said it was a official key. I heard that I should link that key code to my microsoft account so I can reinstall windows from that and not have to buy another windows for like 200 bucks... not sure if I can do that though. Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Solution
Your gtx 1070 will work fine with AMD CPU but you wont get the full potential of the cpu with this GPU. Your ram is DDR4 and compatible BUT its only a single dim and 2400mhz. To get the maximum performance of Ryzen you need dual channel and minimum 3200Mhz ram. To get the maximum performance out of 3000 series ryzen is to get a 3600Mhz kit. If you want a good motherboard that is out of the box compatible and dont want to pay the premium for the extra features like pci-e 4.0 then look for MSI MAX motherboards MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX is a very good motherboard for the price. Personally i have my windows key linked to my microsoft account and when i install windows again with new mobo i pressed i dont have a key inserted my account and after...

Mrgr74

Reputable
BANNED
current build: i5 7600 /
asrock b150 pro 4 /
samsung DDR4 16gb ram 2400 MHz (1 stick) /
Galax gtx 1070 EXOC sniper white /
250gb ssd / 1TB HDD /
corsair CX600 /
coolermaster Hypter T4