Upgrading from 750ti, need good suggestions for build. CPU/Motherboard suggestions welcome too.

masterflarg

Prominent
Nov 8, 2017
Hey guys, I'm new to Tom's Hardware. I got this pc build a while ago and I'm looking to upgrade, especially with black Friday coming up (If that is in fact a good time.) My budget I'm not 100% on I'm just looking for good options. Obviously if the Graphics card is not my biggest concern please let me know. I'm not the best at PC language so I'm just looking for something that'll be good to play video games well now and for the foreseeable future. The cheaper the better. Thanks in advance for any insight or help.

Specs:
CPU: INTEL PENTIUM G3258 3.2 GHZ 3MB INTEL SMART CACHE LGA 1150 (obviously I'm upgrading this thing it was suggested by a friend who read the wrong line item and badly suggested this.)
GPU: EVGA NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 750 TI 2GB FTW ACX
Motherboard: ASROCK B85M-ITX INTEL B85 SATA 6 USB 3.0 MITX LGA 1150
PSU: XFX TS SERIES 550W 80 PLUS BRONZE POWER SUPPLY

Solution
You'll need to upgrade the mobo regardless, there isn't a great CPU you can get on your board, and any K-series will be neutered because you lack the ability to overclock.

an i5 and a 1060 won't be bad but I don't think you will be covered for the next couple years. Never buy to "future-proof" especially with GPUs. A solid i5 will last you a good 3-4 years, a top of the line i7 4-5 easily, (lot of people are still rocking 3rd and 4th gen i7's) but unless you buy a top of the line GPU (like a 1080 Ti) your GPU will last 1-2 years of good quality performance tops. Most people upgrade after 2 generations. For example people with 980 Ti's waited for the 1080 Ti's to upgrade, people with 750 Ti's are upgrading to 1050 Ti's etc. Odds are...

EpIckFa1LJoN

Admirable
That largely depends on what resolution you intend to run.

There are two schools. High-res and high refresh rate.