Upgrading from Win 7 to Win 10 - Old Computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

roylfewkes

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2012
I am a college student visiting my parents for a month this summer in Washington. They have been using my main build as a facebook and email machine... all this http:// is going to waste basically..

I have decided to take this back with me to Texas for proper use. But they need a computer. Back in 2009 they bought a desktop that I built onto when I first started getting into computers. It's specs are:

AMD Athlon x2 3800+ ( With aftermarket cooler)
4G DDR Ram
400w psu
M9b1Q7 Mobo

.. everything else is pretty much crap so I will be replacing with spare parts I have laying around. It is in a pretty nice sub $50 case from Newegg, Antec Fans all around. GT 9800 for graphics.
and for a drive I will put in a 240g Corsair Force Gt ( Yes I know the mobo only supports SATA 1)

I am thinking about installing this:
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit, System Builder OEM DVD 1 Pack

Found here -
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LG0K4MM?ref_=cm_cd_al_qh_dp_t

My question is, will I be able to Upgrade to windows 10 when it comes out July 29th from this version? I assume yes but I just want to make sure. I am also open to any more suggestions and advice too. *** Also what the heck does "For Refurbished PC Installation" mean - This is going on a formatted SSD and I want to make sure this will work for me.

My plan is to just set this up for my parents. They honestly rarely use the computer anyway, maybe once a week or every other.. they just need a computer for now. Later when I visit in the winter I plan to Swap out for a new PSU, Mobo and go with an Intel Pentium or i3 since I will probably bring my GTX 970 with. Anyway let me know! Thanks!!

roylfewkes

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2012