[SOLVED] Upgrading my gpu

Apr 9, 2020
Guys so i just removed my gtx 960 2gb cause i am getting a 1660 ti tommorow so i wanted to ask if i need to remove my old drivers? Ir what to do since i am pretty new with building/replacing hardware

Solution
Lastest Geforce Driver Download Page

Before you exchange the graphics card. Download and install the latest drivers from NVidia. You'll note under the supported products section it lists both the GTX 960 as well as the GTX 1660Ti.

Then, when you receive your graphics card, shut down your computer, exchange the card, and reboot. Should be as simple as that. No need for a third party app.

-Wolf sends
May 12, 2020
I did the same thing when I replaced my 760 with a 970. - just took the old one out and put the new one in.

Of course if you want to do it super-clean then remove all the drivers before you remove the old card, preferably with DDU as well. Windows will then give the GPU a generic driver. Then turn it all off, replace card, boot it up and install the latest Nvidia driver package.

Reactions: Ferimer
Apr 9, 2020
I did the same thing when I replaced my 760 with a 970. - just took the old one out and put the new one in.

Of course if you want to do it super-clean then remove all the drivers before you remove the old card, preferably with DDU as well. Windows will then give the GPU a generic driver. Then turn it all off, replace card, boot it up and install the latest Nvidia driver package.
Oke doke thanks

Ferimer

Distinguished