Upgrading my PC with an SSD

Fenkosmo

Honorable
Jan 8, 2014
So here's my situation (and I am by no means an expert in any of this): I currently have my PC set up with two 500GB HDD's running RAID 0 and I want to add a 120GB Samsung SSD where I will have windows installed. Most of my games/programs will still be located on the HDD's.

At this point I have already installed windows on the SSD so I'm currently able to boot my pc into both instances of windows (the old one on my HDD and the new on the SSD)

1. What do I need to do to get my HDD's to work from the new install of windows?
    2. Will I have to backup my data to an external harddrive or can it be done internally? (What would be easier for a novice)

Bear in mind it's hard for me to even ask questions since I don't know where to start. I am able minded so I think I'll be able to figure out whatever solution. The only knowledge I have is from 4 years ago when i built this PC, where I also ran into a LOT of problems.

Thanks so much in advance!

spdragoo

Splendid
Ambassador
I'm assuming what you mean is that you want to have only 1 Windows installation (the one on the SSD), with your RAID HDDs working for app & data storage (i.e. getting rid of the old Windows files on there).

If that's the case, then there are 2 methods to do this:

1. The easiest is to back up all irreplaceable files (savegames, photos, music, documents, downloaded installers/ISOs, etc.) onto a separate drive, then wipe the RAID drives & start over fresh. As you would suspect, however, you need to save the files somehow. This could mean an external drive (more expensive), a flash drive (dependent upon the size of the files & the capacity of your flash drives), or burning the files onto blank CDs/DVDs (more time-consuming, but also provide a hardcopy backup in case something happens).