[SOLVED] Upgrading PSU in HP Pavillion 690-0024

Sep 11, 2020
I want to upgrade my PSU from a 400w to a 650w.
I’m not good with computers but as far as I know, my Sunflower motherboard doesn’t have the usual 24 pin connector, I believe it’s a 4x4 and also non ATX.
I want to put in a Corsair CM 650w PSU.
Would this be possible if I am able to find some sort of adapter? and which one would I need?
Thanks.

Solution
I’m not good with computers but as far as I know, my Sunflower motherboard doesn’t have the usual 24 pin connector, I believe it’s a 4x4 and also non ATX.
Would this be possible if I am able to find some sort of adapter? and which one would I need?
Thanks.
Looking at pics of the system, it appears the PSU is a short version of a flex-atx type, so no, a standard power supply will not fit in there at all. The motherboard uses a 4-pin power for the board, another 4-pin for the CPU and the two sata ports are powered by the board with an 8-pin cable from the PSU directly to the board.

Even though the system comes with a Ryzen 5 2400g CPU, the...
Thanks.
Looking at pics of the system, it appears the PSU is a short version of a flex-atx type, so no, a standard power supply will not fit in there at all. The motherboard uses a 4-pin power for the board, another 4-pin for the CPU and the two sata ports are powered by the board with an 8-pin cable from the PSU directly to the board.

Even though the system comes with a Ryzen 5 2400g CPU, the motherboard does not support integrated graphics. That's HP for you, but the board supports Ryzen 5 2600 or Ryzen 7 2700 for upgrades.

The system has single channel memory at 2666mhz. speed, limiting overall system performance for a Ryzen CPU to some degree. One memory slot remains unpopulated.