mattwerew

Commendable
Jul 26, 2021
Ok, I have an RX 6600 paired with a Ryzen 5 3600 plugged into a Gigabyte B550M DS3H Micro ATX AM4 motherboard with a 550W power supply.

I play mostly FPS games but also games like RDR2 and occasionally VR. And I like doing some multitasking such as recording while gaming and talking on Discord at the same time.

I first considered upgrading to a CPU like the 5 5600x or the 7 5700x as they have the same
TDP and AM4 socket, because I don’t necessarily want to buy a new mobo and power supply. However I realised that I won’t get a substantial and worthwhile performance increase and would only really benefit in VR and CPU intensive games like BeamNG.

I heard from some that upgrading your GPU instead is more worth it, but then I would have to contend with possibly bottlenecks and high TDP.

So I guess I have two decisions, upgrade CPU or GPU first. But I’m not good at making decisions, so that’s why I’m looking for some suggestions or advice.

My stock approach to this perennial question:

Some games are graphics limited like fast action shooters.
Others are cpu core speed limited like strategy, sims, and mmo.
Multiplayer tends to like many threads.

You need to find out which.
------------------------------------------------------------
To help clarify your CPU/GPU options, run this test:

Run YOUR games, but lower your resolution and eye candy.
This makes the graphics card loaf a bit.
If your FPS increases, it indicates that your cpu is strong enough to drive a better graphics configuration.
If your FPS stays the same, you are likely more cpu limited.

Ok, I have an RX 6600 paired with a Ryzen 5 3600 plugged into a Gigabyte B550M DS3H Micro ATX AM4 motherboard with a 550W power supply.

I play mostly FPS games but also games like RDR2 and occasionally VR. And I like doing some multitasking such as recording while gaming and talking on Discord at the same time.