[SOLVED] USB Bizarre Behavior

Jun 16, 2021
Hello all! HP Z230, latest build Win 10.

I have two external drives connected through USB 3 ports on the front of the box. Drive "F" (WD My Passport) has a large collection of music files. Drive "G" (Toshiba) is a file backup drive. They have worked perfectly for two years. Now the following happened. All of a sudden, neither drive was recognized. I went through all of the standard steps--reboots, reinstall of USB drivers, etc.No soap. I started playing with the drives. Now the "F" drive is correctly recognized and functions normally, although there was a lot of odd behavior at first, that went away after reboots and driver reinstalls. BUT if I also plug the "G" drive to any of the front ports, the "F" disappears and "G" is not recognized. BUT the "G" drive works perfectly if I plug it into the port on my monitor. I can build a machine from parts. I have solved many complex problems for myself and others. I can't figure this one out.

Possibly relevant. I had several older drive plugged into these ports with a SATA to USB setup to recover older files. This went okay. There have evidently been some MS updates regarding USB including the "Extensible Host Controller" and "Root Hub USB 3.0" (see screen grab) I suspect these.

Windows 10 Professional (x64) Version 2009 (build 19043.1052)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)
Installed: 6/9/2020 9:43:59 PM

Hewlett-Packard HP Z230 Tower Workstation

Board: Hewlett-Packard 1905
Serial Number: 2UA602269J
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
UEFI: Hewlett-Packard L51 v01.52 07/20/2015

3.60 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4790
256 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
8192 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (4 total)
Hyper-threaded (8 total)

Thanks a big heap for any advice.

Les

Solution
if they dont get recognized together, it might be power limit issue, u can solve that with external power supply