Using 2 HDD's with one being detected.

HaakonXCI

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2009
Hi, I'm new to multiple harddrives and I'm really clueless as to how this would be managed before I end up messing something up here. I have 2 SATA harddrives and I would like to plug in both but I'm going to have one have Windows Vista on it and another with Ubuntu and I would like to know how to make it so the other drive is not detected whatsoever in either OS. I'm kinda lazy which is why I ask so this way I can just have both drives plugged in without me switching out the cables for each boot.

Any way to make this work without RAID or anything fancy?

John_VanKirk

Distinguished
Hi there,

Need to tell the group more about your computer, model, Desktop of Laptop, CPU, attached devices, OS, RAM etc. That way everyone can think about the same problem and come up with the best solution for you.

One HDD has to be the Active Drive, designated as System and Boot. Is that your Vista HDD designated as C:\? And is that drive in Disk Management listed as Disk 0, Basic, and Volume listed as NTFS, with the drive designation as C, and Healthy?

If so, the probably the easiest way to Multiboot to either Vista or Ubuntu, is to use the Free Boot Manager EasyBCD, which will find the separate OS's on separate Basic discs, and list them in the Boot Menu to choose from. It will handle the Win-XP ntldr, Vista or Win-7 Winload, or Unix Ubuntu.

It takes the component place of the Boot Manager Phase in the StartUp phases of your computer startup phases.

It has nothing to do with Dynamic Drives using RAID, Spanning, or Mirroring.
It lets you easiy choose which OS to boot to when your computer starts up without having to edit the BCD store or programmatically change the names or order of the multiple OS's on the computer.

HaakonXCI

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2009
My computer is one I put together a few years ago but changes have been made since. Here is what's currently in the PC..