[SOLVED] Using 3rd party firmware question

voyboy488

Prominent
Jul 15, 2018
This question is for those who are experienced with 3rd party firmware and flashing their routers.

Apologies in advance because I am a newbie but I was curious about using 3rd party firmware for a netgear nighthawk R7800 for online gaming ONLY.

If I was only gaming, is their any benefit to flash my firmware for improvement to overall latency/ping spikes in games comparing manufacture firmware vs 3rd party firmware for R7800?

I am not really sure what a 3rd party firmware does other than I can use SQM which is supposidly better than QOS.

I know their is shaping from 3rd party firmware as well where you can set download and upload limits but I can do that with R7800 just as easy.

I am mainly focusing on OpenWRT but open to the other firmwares as well.

With that in mind, any benefits to flashing R7800 firmware for pure gaming only or is the stock firmware from netgear good enough?

I feel like that had R7800 not supported QOS or shaping to make bufferbloat better then I woulda for sure flashed firmware but I feel like their is no need since those features are found on R7800.

Solution
Your first step is to look at your utilization. If you are not using 100% of the bandwidth any form of QoS will at best do nothing and in some cases can make things worse.

The next consideration is if you have a very fast internet connection loading third party firmware will cap the speeds. There are hardware features in many routers that they do not release the drivers for that allow traffic to bypass the cpu. Forcing traffic thought the CPU will cap you at 200-250mbps. Note even on factory image that has this bypass feature if you attempt to use any feature that needs to examine the traffic this feature must be disabled. Pretty much if you have a fast internet connection and want to do more than simple NAT you have to use...

Math Geek

Titan
Ambassador