Using an NVMe SSD with an HDD

May 16, 2018
Would a combination of an NVMe SSD with an HDD work if at all? I'm a novice to the technology world (still a student), so excuse my lack of knowledge.

My motherboard is ASRock A320M-DGS with 1 PCIe 3.0 x16, 1 PCIe 2.0 x1

I know M.2 SSD and NVMe SSDs are different by nature, and I cannot seem to find a topic related to the combination of functionality between NVMe SSD, and HDD. I mainly want to know, because NVMe SSDs are hell tons of fast. Like 10-times-the-maximum-standart SSD have.

Solution

Absolutely, yes.
There is no issue with whatever combination of drives, as long as the motherboard supports it natively.

NVMe SSD, SATA SSD, HDD, DVD, whatever.

However...don't be automatically sucked into the "NVMe is OMG faster!" concept...

USAFRet

Titan

Absolutely, yes.
There is no issue with whatever combination of drives, as long as the motherboard supports it natively.

NVMe SSD, SATA SSD, HDD, DVD, whatever.

However...don't be automatically sucked into the "NVMe is OMG faster!" concept.
Yes, they are faster at some tasks. But not 10x faster than an SSD.
And in some uses, 0x faster.

Solution
the trick with an ssd/flash based drive is you put the programs you use most on the drive for speed. any flash based drive has a write limit on the drive. you dont want to be adding and removing programs and files daily on a ssd/flash based drive. once windows is installed on the flash drive..most people put a few games on the ssd. the hard drive is used as a daily storage/download drive to save wites on the flash based drive.

The industry has intentionally chosen MB/s to measure storage speeds because it exaggerates the impact of faster drives. MB/s is the measure you want to use if you only have x seconds and you need the computer to complete as many operations as possible in those x seconds.