Question Using Silicone to seal Liquid Metal

Jul 16, 2022
Good Morning.
I'm planning to make a big risky step into the cooling of my laptop. I have a very powerful laptop. Rtx 3080, I7 and 64gb of ram.
I have a bit of a problem when it goes to cooling my laptop, as it overheats easily because it is very thin and as I am stressing the CPU my laptop powers off.
Now i thought about a solution to have a safer installation of the liquid metal into the CPU.
I thought about have silicone sealing the CPU avoiding the LM spread into the Motherboard.
I looked for a thermal proof silicone.
I must add I am a TI Expert ad I work for a TI company, but I would like to have a second opinion as it is a very very expensive laptop.
The second solution could be undervolting my CPU but it isn't a simple solution as my CPU is not a 'K' CPU.

Ralston18

Titan
Do not do that.

At worst you could end up just trapping more heat inside the laptop and cause serious damage.

At best, there will be a physical mess to deal with and cleaning that mess up could be difficult.

And being an expensive laptop (make, model, OS, etc.) what you are considering to do will very likely void any warranty.

What temperatures are being measured?

Why and how is the laptop being stressed?

Figuring out why the laptop is getting hot should be the first objective.

Full laptop specs?

Jul 16, 2022
MSI Creator 15 A10UH-037ES Intel Core i7-10875H/64GB/2TB SSD/RTX 3080/15.6"

I thought about just sealing the CPU, so it shouldn't affect the heat dissipation

KyaraM

Admirable
As above, don't do that. You will likely brick the machine. Sealing anything at all might cause heat pockets to form. Don't.

Also, undervolting should still be possible with a non-k chip. The real question is, will your mainboard allow fiddling with voltages. Might need Windows programs for that depending on the BIOS.

Reactions: Leonida95
Jul 16, 2022
Do not do that.