Vcore LLC on Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3

ObsidianObelisk17

Reputable
Dec 13, 2014
Hello, I've been overclocking basic things using software for a few months now, and I've recently started overclocking using the BIOS, as I heard that it's better, whether for customization options, or for the computers health. My question here is about Loadline Calibration, but specifically about the settings/presets that come with my motherboard, a Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 rev 4.1. Before anyone tells me "if you don't know these things, you shouldn't be overclocking," I know what LLC is and I can see its uses, but I've seen conflicting information and outcomes because of different preferences, hardware configs, etc. The presets that come in LLC on my mobo are Auto, Normal, Extreme, Medium, Low, and Standard, and I've found the numbers that correspond with some of them, such as 0 being Extreme, ~10-60 being Medium, ~70-80 being Low, ~90-100 being Standard, and by default, it is at 100, while the box next to it says Auto. I have researched these, and it seems that some settings lower the vcore voltage as the CPU usage rises, and I experimented with some settings, finding vcore lowered as CPU usage increased. Some graphs I've seen show a default or reference line going up in Vcore as it goes right in Ghz/usage, and the idle line and the load line are under or over the default line, sometimes the idle line is higher, sometimes the load line is higher, and I presume that, by default, my LLC full load line would fall under the default line, lowering voltage as the usage increased, but I am unsure how that would benefit the performance besides preventing overheating, an electrical surge, and preventing the death of components. I understand that when Vcore is raised, it just raises the reference line, and if the idle or load line passed it, it could kill the components because it is delivering more power than the CPU expects. I have Cool & Quiet, C1E, Core C6 State, APM, and Turbo disabled, and I have