[SOLVED] Vega 56 Flash

Oct 11, 2019
Hi

Im new to PC gaming and just finished my 1st build. This may of been covered before but i have a question about flashing the bios to VEGA 64. Current GPU os MSI vega 56 air boost OC when flashing to 64 do i choose the the same card 64 bios the Vega 64 air boost oc bios if that makes sense and also does anyone know the power consumption once the 64 bios is applied.

Hope you can help TIA

Solution
Here is my current overclock. in the radeon software - performance - tune.

Remember, all GPU's are different! I would recommend starting at power limit +50% (if your PSU is above 600W at least Bronze rated) and then setting the voltages of your GPU like I did.

A good way to validate if your gpu still functions is with software like Heaven benchmark, just run it for a few minutes (if the clockspeed is around 90% of what your status 7 is, then it's okay). The weird thing about vega 56 is that the clock speed you set never really get's reached, in my case, it stays around 1600 MHz in game.

After you ran the benchmark for a bit, start with putting the status 7 and 8 freq a bit higher. Never do big steps, but go from like 1500 to...

Swarzenegger

Great
Jan 6, 2020
Before you do that, make sure u have Samsung HBM2. Download GPU-Z and look at "memory type". I got a MSI vega 56 air boost myself, and flashing the bios does not do a lot for me cause I have Hynix memory, which can't run at higher voltages (or freqs).

If you have samsung memory, go for it. Power consumption can be a bit higher, depends on how far u take the OC.

But to be fair, if you are new to pc building and OC, maybe not do this. you can undervolt your P6/P7 and get performances almost equal to the stock vega 64 without flashing the bios.

Oct 11, 2019
I have checked the memory and it has the Samsung HBM2, Ive never overclocked anything and was going to run the 64 bios standard would this be advisable