Info Verdict: Even the STRIX can only pull a ~10% increase in performance over the FE in games. Keep this in mind when buying.

Sep 12, 2022
Foreword: In the past 2 weeks or so, I've learned about VRM design, PCBs, how cooling impacts some series more than others (and why) and so on. I'm not a "GPU tech person", but my background is low-level programming and Data Science, I know numbers and, in the lack of any post like this, might as well post it. I've tried to be as unbiased as possible and collect as much data from all kinds of people, even asked some big channels directly. Anyways, my original goal was to discover whether or not there is a big difference between the FE and AIB cards (3080Ti/3090 specifically, so 3000-series). I am in the market for buying a new PC come the 4000 series, my budget being $5k and I thought - damn, that budget will get me top-of-the-line everything. Boy, was I wrong. A STRIX goes for ~30-35%+ over the FE, as well as other AIBs, especially in Europe (I am based in NA, but I looked at EU markets as well). So, with that in mind, you're looking to pay ~$1350 vs. $1000. In some countries, the price increase is as high as 50-60%, which is insane, and that's not a single event. The Strix is considered the top-of-the-top (besides the Galax HOF), but is the price worth it?

I'll start with the conclusion: If you don't care about a maximum increase of ~10%, objectively, absolutely not, if all you care about performance, however, some AIBs like Inno3D have low-quality everything - VRMs, power limits, etc.. Even with crazy OCs, assuming you can get to 2000Mhz+ the Strix gains ~9-10%, so, that 100FPS becomes 110FPS. We're talking Stock FE vs. crazy OC Strix. When we OC the FE, we get a closer ~5%. There's just simply no reason to buy an AIB over the FE for the performance alone(*). Now, here's where they differ - had to sit through a mountain of conflicting information:
  • Customer Support
  • Warranties
  • Community
  • Resale Value