Build Advice Very New to PC Builds, Mainly Seeking Motherboard/Components Advice

Jun 28, 2022
Hence my username, I am a complete newbie to this. Please bare with me.

I've decided to build a new PC, specifically for gaming.

I've understood that the motherboard is mainly the foundation for all other components. I'm just not sure which one to pick or which kinds to look for. One of my friends told me that AMD boards were a good choice, but I also heard that they absolutely devour electricity. I'm not trying to put a huge dent in my electricity bill, so should I go for Intel instead?

I would appreciate any advice/recommendations.

USAFRet

Titan
For a whole new system, start here:

Post in the Systems Forum.

Jun 28, 2022
For a whole new system, start here:

Post in the Systems Forum.
Apologies; will move my post there .

Reactions: Why_Me
Jun 28, 2022
Hence my username, I am a complete newbie to this. Please bare with me.

I've decided to build a new PC, specifically for gaming.

I would appreciate any advice/recommendations.

More info found below:

Approximate Purchase Date: Within 1-2 months

Budget Range:
400-550 USD on total build, willing to spend more if needed

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
Gaming (Mainly games such as Battlefront 2, Jedi Fallen Order, Witcher 3, etc.) if that helps
2. Academics
3. Streaming games (On discord, I'll only be streaming to a small group of friends so this won't need as much consideration)

Are you buying a monitor: Yes

Parts to Upgrade: Starting completely from scratch, would need recs for most/all components including new/used PC cases

Do you need to buy OS: Not sure, would appreciate advice on this
Please note that if you're using an OEM license of Windows, you will need a new one when buying a new motherboard.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts:
I don't have a preference, but I would prefer any websites with cheaper selections/ reasonable prices

Parts Preferences: Motherboard