VHS to DVD on the cheap?

Codesmith

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2003
I have a friend whose father wants to buy a new PC for the purpose of converting old home movies to DVD.

The movies are not the highest of quality so an inexpensive capture card added to the PC should do the trick.

What would be the best card to use (TV Wonder, Happauge ect..).

Will any of these cards come with the appropriate software? He will be using legal software so price is a factor.

What about getting a windows media center PC since they come with capture cards.

I have no experience converting home movies to DVD so any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
You ask for inexpensive, then mention Media Center? LOL!

OK, you have lots of choices, so how cheap is "cheap"?

BTW, if his "home movies" just happen to appear as though they have Macrovision protection, he'll probably want the Turtle Beach Video Advantage, you can read the review at THG.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

Bruxbox

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2001
Any Windows Media Center Edition pc on the market today should be able to do this job, and do it well. This is the kind of stuff WMCE was designed for.

Alternatively, a box with a fairly powerful CPU (Intel 3.0 Ghz, AMD 3000+), a brand name video caputer card or TV tuner card, and a large hard drive should give you all the tools you need for this job.

Another alternative is to use a miniDV camcorder that has an analogue video in port (composite or s-video) and 1394 port out. Connect the VCR to the miniDV camcorder with a composite or s-video cable. Then connect the miniDV camcorder to the pc with a 1394 cable.