Question Video editing off Drobo 5c

nickbeef

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2015
I work as a freelance video producer. In addition to my SSD boot drive, I've got a 4tb HDD internal drive for current projects, and then various external drives for archived projects. I've been mostly working with 1080p highly compressed footage, so I haven't had to buy more then one new external drive a year for archive. However, I've started working more with 4K footage, and 4K RAW footage, and so I'm not only concerned about how to archive this, but also how to edit with the larger files. I'm currently looking into getting a Drobo, and slowly adding drives, both for capacity and redundancy.

Will the Drobo 5c work well in this configuration, both as an archive drive, but also possibly to edit off of. As an archive the 5c seems like a no-brainier, it's cheaper then the other 5 bay Drobos. But is USB C (USB 3) going to be acceptable for editing 4K footage off of? Is the whole RAID/redundancy going to slow things down enough that I shouldn't even bother editing off of it? Should I consider other Drobo 5 bays, even though they cost a whole heck of a lot more?

USAFRet

Titan
Early on, I really really wanted to like Drobo's.
But there were far too many issues with data loss, etc.
They may have gotten better.

But considering current NAS boxes from other suppliers like Synology or Qnap, I see little reason to go with a Drobo and its proprietary semi RAID thing.

Editing from a Drobo or other NAS box? Well, ideally, you'd use that for just a target drive for archives once you were done editing on your PC.
I wouldn't use it as the "main" storage/work drive. No matter how you connect it...USB or ethernet...it will be slower than on internal drive, especially an SSD.

Reactions: nickbeef

nickbeef

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2015