(Virgin Builder- First build ) Half way done but need help so It doesnt explode and melt my face off please

babyrodan

Reputable
Jun 15, 2014
So this is my first build. I am a noob builder with extreme emphasis on noob. I have found that most of the online guides and all the manuals have not really helped all that much. Most of what I have hooked up was just off of assumption. I have only screwed in the power supply to the case so far everything else is loose in there.

Here are some pics with some questions.

so far what ive done

these cables come from the front of the chasis, not sure where they go

does anyone know what each of these pieces are used for?

I already have my video card connected to the power supply so Im not sure what I do with these PCI E connectors. I don't even see a slot for them on the motherboard

for my hard drive, I already hooked it up to the power supply and got a sata cable going from it to the mothaboard, but theres this little 4 prong slot next to the sata connector that I don't know what to do with.

Also coming from the chasis is this grounding thing that I have no idea what to do with, doesn't seem to be any spot for it on the motherboard.

Also Im not installing an optical drive so how would I go about installing the OS via USB?
And the motherboard and vid card came with installation cd roms so I don't know what to do there.

Solution
Yeah, its generally referred to as "breadboarding" Get yourself a non-conductive surface and lay the motherboard on that, a big piece of card board will suffice.

babyrodan

Reputable
Jun 15, 2014
and the build is

CPU AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor
ASRock 970 Pro3 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard
Patriot Viper 3 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600
Seagate Barracuda ES 750GB 3.5"
MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti
Cougar Solution (Black) ATX Mid Tower
EVGA 430W PSU

Going from top to bottom

1. Those are your front panel connectors, consult your motherboard manual to see what header on the board they hook up to