[SOLVED] Virtual Idiot Needs Help Connecting Wired Internet via Cable

Nov 13, 2021
I am sure what I need to do has a simple solution, but I am not an expert (or even an experienced amateur) so hoping the literal pros on here can let me know what to do.

I'm in California and I have Spectrum Internet, Cable TV, and voice service. I have a box in an upstairs closet where the cable line runs into the house, and then coaxial cables radiate out from there to every room in the house - they are not all connected.

I have a 3-way splitter in the box in the closet, and two of the coaxial cables running to coaxial cable outlets are hooked up to that. One is located in the family room and is wired to a cable box with TV/DVR etc. The second goes to a cable outlet in my office where a coaxial cable connects to the Spectrum-provided internet modem and a Nighthawk WiFi router.

A third as yet unconnected connection is my issue - that cable goes to a cable outlet in my wife's office upstairs and she does not want to use a wifi connection - she wants a wired ethernet (?) connection. I thought since I had the cable/internet signal in the coaxial port in that room, I could just buy a modem and hook it up, but now I'm not sure that's the way to do it? Seems you have to do too much finagling with the modem to authorize a second modem.

Hopefully, I can get some friendly instructions on the right way to get this done? Spectrum is no help because all they do is get the signal to the house - so I am on my own for the rest of this.

I greatly appreciate and am thankful in advance for any advice freely given!

James
Carlsbad CA

Solution
You can only have 1 modem....well they might let you have a second one but then you must pay for a second account.

The technology you want to use is called MoCA. The newest technology can in theory run 2.5g but for most people it easily get gigabit.