Vista Will Not Boot, Please Help!

gzj993

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2009
My primary laptop running vista crashed and states corrupted file. I do not have a backup CD with my pictures and word docs. I called Dell, who suggested to do a system recovery but in doing so I would lose all my files. They said they had someone who could pull the files for $$$. I am a novice user so I figured I could try to find a way to do this via internet. Microsoft said to restart, f8, and go into safe mode...this option does not come up, only "start windows normally (just sends me to an error message)" and "fix startup error (same error message)". So next it says if you can't boot in safe mode, power down, insert OS disk and press key when prompted, and use windows recovery environment to get to system restore... I put the disk in, turn the computer on and it will not boot from the disk, just sends me to the earlier referenced screen ("start windows normally"). Is there a way to get to system restore so I can just resore to my last system restore point or am I going to have to wipe everything back to factory settings? Sorry for the long read... Please help!!

You boot sector may be corrupted. Instructions to repair the boot sector.

In BIOS, You will need to set the first boot device to DVD.

1. Start the system and Hold down the DEL key (may be F1, F2) to get to system BIOs.

2. In BIOS, set the first boot device to DVD, place Vista DVD in tray.

3. Save and Exit.

4. When prompted, press any key to boot to DVD do so.

How to repair boot sector in Vista.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392

You're not hitting F8 at the correct time... trust me, if you were, you would get the "Safe Mode" option. As soon as POST completes and before it begins booting from the hard drive, immediately start tapping F8. Basically, you're getting the menu you get when Windows is shut down improperly whether on purpose or due to a blue screen or other error.