RihaanShim

Commendable
Apr 6, 2020
rsfics.com
Ladies and Gentlemen, I humbly put up this ~$1K VR-ready build up for review to be critiqued, because I do not want to make any mistakes in this final draft. This is my first build, I am unbelievably nervous and inexperienced, and I've gone back and forth with a few people on this discord for assistance to finalize this list. Well, semi-finalize.

https://rsfics.com/VRbuild

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard: Gigabyte X570 AORUS PRO WIFI ATX AM4 Motherboard
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Storage: Sabrent Rocket Q 2 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8 GB Video Card
Case: Corsair 750D ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply: Cooler Master MWE Gold 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Optical Drive: LG WH16NS40 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer

If anything is overkill, let me know. I'd like something that would last me at least five years, through Vive or Oculus or any other 1080/60fps game in max-range settings. If HDR is possible, I'd like to know. 2k at 144hz is what my friend recommended.

Last edited:
Solution
Okay, here's my semi-final build. I scrapped everything and restarted, courtesy of pcpartpicker. What do you think, in terms of power and VR capability?
I plan on getting an Oculus Rift S, but I'm not against a VIVE Cosmos in the future.
I don't know what pricing is like where you are, but if the price is similar, I would probably go with a Ryzen 3600 or 3600X rather than a 2700 for a build where VR performance is a concern, as those should be the better performers at moderately-threaded tasks like today's games. While the 2700 has more cores, the 3600 offers more performance per core. Especially at stock clocks, the 2700 (non-X) tends to drop its boost clocks significantly to around 3.5GHz or so when presented with...

WildCard999

Titan
This is $1,000? This list seems a bit more then that.