want to build a cheap computer for overlocking

sabenfox

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2006
First off i would like to say hello to everyone here. This is my first time posting at these forums.
I have been coming to tom's hardware for a long time now, and often visited the forums on the homepage, but just today decided to register.

Also if this post needs to be moved to a different section please do so and i appologize in advance

My goal is relatively simple. I have been working on computers for roughly 6 to 8 years, however it has come to my attention that through this whole time i have never learned to overlock a computer to the full potential.

The system i have was built myself and is listed below
Athlon 64 X2 4200
2Gigs of DDR 400 RAM (can't remember what brand)
Nvidia 7800GTX
Gigabyte GA-K8N PRO SLI
Sound Blaster Life

I have tried to overclock this computer without raising the voltage. I can't get it to overclock to 2.4Ghz without the bios freezing, or windows going to blue screen (using easy tune). I have read bad reviews regarding overlocking with this motherboard, and seeing as how the processor is about $400 dollars i don't want to risk damaging it by rasing the voltage

SO

what i want to do is buld a cheap computer, but a computer that i can overclock and play with, and if the processor fries, it wont be a huge chunk of money totally wasted, and i can buy another processor without going broke. I would like to build a system that if i tweak it correctly i can overlock to insane amounts (if this is possible). I would like to spend no more then $400.00 on this system, perferably less. This system will mainly be used for learning purposes, so a fancy video card really isn't needed, maybe like a ti4200 or something, who knows.