[SOLVED] Want to upgrade GPU, not sure if I should upgrade monitor first.

Oct 14, 2019
Hello everyone, I am very new to building PCs and have just started to put together a nice one. I have a decent motherboard, 16 GB ram, Ryzen 7 2700x processor and a GTX 760 GPU. I run games on my 55" 4k monitor 30 hz. I am looking to upgrade my GPU in the coming months since its pretty weak in this day and age, new games like The Outer Worlds and even older ones like Dark Souls 3 top out in visual quality at about mid settings, and also display some strange screen tearing/ fuzziness whenever the camera moves side to side. My question is whether it will be more important to upgrade my GPU, or my monitor since the refresh rate is so low. My GPU makes things look good, but no where near great and struggles intensely with 4k resolutions, my fear is that I will upgrade my GPU just to find that my TV cannot keep up with it, please shoot your loads of wisdom all over me.

Last edited by a moderator:
Solution
Yep, it looks like that screen should support 60Hz input at 4K, provided you use the HDMI 2.0 ports (it appears to have one or more 1.4 ports too) but again, you will likely need a new graphics card for that.

Around the $400 level, assuming you are looking at US prices, there is the Nvidia RTX 2060 SUPER and the RTX 2070, along with the AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT. The RTX 2070 SUPER is typically around $500.

In terms of performance, the standard 2070 is only slightly faster than the 2060 SUPER (no more than 5%), so I wouldn't pay more than $20 extra for one. At close to the same price it should be the better option though. The 2070 SUPER should be around 10-15% faster than the standard 2070, though whether that's worth close to $100...

Lutfij

Titan
When asking for an upgrade advice, we first need to know what you're currently working with. That is, it's full system's specs. List them like so:
CPU:
Motherboard:
Ram:
SSD/HDD:
GPU:
PSU:
Chassis:

How old is the PSU?