Wanting to build my first desktop

Renegade14

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2009
Hello. Thanks in advance for your time.

I am currently stationed in Iraq and will be coming home come early June. Upon arriving back to base I intend to build my first desktop. I have never built a system before and have only upgraded such things as ram, video cards, easy stuff you know? I have wanted to do this since I was a child, I am currently 20 and finally have the finances to do it.

I am here to ask for advise, anything a noobie needs to know so that I dont blow money on buying parts and most of all installing and setting things up... The last thing I want to do is break something and be out on the money. Afterall I know how sensitive the parts can be.

If anyone here can give me advise on what all I need to aquire aside from your main parts. I am talking the little stuff that most people dont know about...

I am nervous about doing this but I want to finally make my own system.

I have a general idea as to what I want in it, so most eveything has already been picked.

The system specs are as follows, feel free to give opinions here as well. I am not affraid to change stuff:

Processor: i7 940

Motherboard: Intel X58

Ram: 12 Gigs of Corsair DDR3 1600

Video Card: 2x BFG Nvidia GeForce GTX 295

Hard Drive: 2x Wester Digital 7200 RPM 500 GB

Power Supply: Antec TruePower Quattro 1000W

DVD/CD-ROM : Asus Black SATA DVD-Rom

Monitor: HP 30" LP3065 2560x1600

Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit (Would like to do duel boot with XP but no idea how to)

NIC: Killer NIC M1 Gaming Networkd Card (?Opinions?)

Case: I have not decided because I need to find one that will hold all of this and a bunch-o-fans. As well as aftermarket cooling like a Noctua 120mm CPU Cooler.

I know I need thermal paste, and I got thermal paste remover as well just in case I need to redo it.