Wanting to start a Custom PC Business?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crypto6

Reputable
Oct 10, 2014
I have no idea how to start a business regarding custom computers. I work in retail selling them but I don't know the analytics or what goes on behind the scenes to have those specific computers at my store.

Anyway, I was just going to start out on EBay and then if everything goes smoothly- start up my own web page and go from there. But I do have some questions:

I want my first computer I make for the business a little more on the cheap end. I don't know what the majority of people want more- a powerful gaming computer or a standard use computer. I didn't want to spend $1,000 building a gaming computer just yet in case I can't sell it, I'd be out by $1,000. But if the business was going particular well- then I'd risk it. I'm only looking at spending no more than $600 right now for the first few PCs... just because I don't know what the majority of people want and what is more likely to sell.

I was going to fully install Windows 8 on them, and just go over some diagnostics to make sure the machines are running smoothly before selling them. I know a little about PC repair, and I'm sure if I start my own website- it will be essential to know troubleshooting more, but as of right now through EBay, I don't really think its essential I brush up on it. I'll be sure the product is 100% fully functional the first time.

Anyway, could use some hints and tips. Don't know what I am getting into or what to expect. I need to be really careful on the first PC build just so if it doesn't sell- I'm not out by a lot of money. I don't know what sells better honestly: A gaming computer or home computer that are both custom built. Also, how much should I jump the price by? I don't want to come off as a rip off and over charge, but I do need to make some money off of the sale.

Solution