Weird HDD/graphics card problem

mick458

Honorable
Feb 19, 2013
Hey

This is my first time posting on here but this problem is driving me nuts!!

My first problem is that every so often randomly my pc will hang for a minute or 2 then resume like normal. This
problem has been ongoing for some time but its my second problem that is my main concern.

my second issue is that whenever I play extremely intensive games (skyrim being the main example) when i start playing I will hear the "device disconnect" sound and my WD HDD will disconnect briefly crashing the game and steam and anything else i run on the HDD. It mostly does this but sometimes my screen will go blank and my GFX card fans will start spinning at 100% or the PC just restarts.

It is very hard for my to replicate these problem even while stress testing my cpu, HDD and GFX card at the same time :/.

I know my ram is working perfectly because it is new and my old ram was working fine and i have tested both sets. Both of my Harddrives pass windows and seatools tests and my gfx card runs fine in MSI Kombuster which pushes it far hotter then any games do. also Prime95 never shows any issues with the cpu.

i was wondering if anybody could help me out with these issues, it would be much appreciated :)

below are my system specs

Samsung 830 SSD
WDC black 1TB
Foxconn flamingblade Mobo
i7 930 cpu
16gb kingston ram
ati HD6950 (flashed with 6970 bios)
750 watt aywun PSU

The first thing I thought of when you said it would freeze for a couple of minutes and then resume was the disk. But since you've passed all the disk checks...

The fact that your system just up and restarts on you could also indicate a RAM or video card issue. Have you run a Windows Memory Diagnostic yet?

Another possibility... That PSU is not a brand I recognize at all. Power could be an issue as well since once the system is stressed (ie Skyrim), you hear device disconnects. Are there any specs for your PSU out there anywhere?

mick458

Honorable