Weirdest PC freezes

Ahmead Alani

Reputable
Jun 3, 2014
I don't know where to start, it's frustrating!
Well i have some knowledge about a PC freezing because i had a laptop that randomly froze, and I spent hours researching this matter, it turned out to be a RAM issue, got it fixed.
Now i own my custom build machine
AMD Fx-8350 4.0GHz
MSI GTX 770
8 GB (2x4GB) of Kingston RAM
a 750W 80+ bronze power supply
Western Digital 1 TB Hard Drive
Windows 10 : this issue only occurred when i upgraded to Windows 10
Now my PC RANDOMLY freezes (sometimes when i load a game, sometimes when i browse, sometimes when i am on skype, one time when i left the PC with nothing on but the Desktop i came back and it was frozen) and make some sort of a buzzing sound (if i had any audio playing) and i am not able to determine the issue.
So my first thoughts were "overheating", i put my GPU and CPU under an hour of stress test, the PC didn't freeze.
I thought it was RAM, i booted Memtest86 and waited for 9 hours with no errors, then i tested each memory stick for 8 hours each, no errors.
i thought it was hard drive, again tests came out clean.
VERY RARELY the PC freezes and shuts down, so i thought it might be the power supply, i put my GPU (300W Max) under 100% power consumption for 2 hours, nothing happened.
After all of that i accidentally removed my external hard drive while the PC was frozen, it magically un-froze, and i check the event viewer it said something about Nvidia driver stopped responding and recovered, i had an empty USB to plug it/out in whenever the PC freezes and it rarely worked.
I checked the internet and some people were advised to add (tdrDelay) to the registry, now my magical USB method rarely FAILS, and the event viewer shows nothing about any driver failed whatsoever, so it still freezes and i have to force restart my PC, and lose some work. (it's a gaming rig, but i do 3d design for fun and it's frustrating to lose your work, if you forgot to save)