What camcorder would you suggest?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 3, 2018
Hi friends! I’m Emiliano. I’m new here and I joined because I’m looking for a new camcorder and I need your help.
I've been reading about several brands and models and I still can't decide.

My idea is to do some local news coverage, an amateur coverage. Some public events, documentary and nature film and stuff like these. I won’t be doing this everyday, it’s not my job. I won’t do weddings.
But, I got a budget and I want something a bit more professional than a common consumer camcorder.
I believe, at least in my case, this would be a camcorder I'll be using for several years. I’m not a professional videomaker or journalist but I want something a step beyond the consumer camcorders. So, I'm not going to be selling it and buying another camcorder so frecuently.
This is an expensive product, at least in my country, and I don’t think I would have the chance to buy something else like this in the near future, either ’cause I didn’t like the image or I don’t feel comfortable with the rings location or the lack of three rings or something else.
I have to use very well my budget.

What am I looking for?
Well, the first concept I learn about was: “entry-level”. So, I could say that's what I want (wanted? - I still can't find a good “entry-level” camcorder yet), an “entry-level” camcorder. Since I have JVC Everio GZ-HM30BU, a 2012 costumer camcorder, I'd say any current handycam would be better than this. But, I want something a bit more semi-professional than a common handycam.
I want something which allows me to handle the exposition, focus, gain, white balance. Also something with a direct mic connection like XRL connection, so I can receive a more direct audio and not an ambient audio, for example, when doing an interview.

That's why I started looking for a camcorder in accordance with my needs, but without going that far. So, I put a limit to my budget.