[SOLVED] What could be the problem or cause for bottelnecking?

saulsilver82

Prominent
Jan 21, 2020
So some games tend to...drop the FPS. Rig is kind of old school. Please let me know what i can do. I'm a newbie when it comes to system checks so bear with me on this one.

CPU: Intel i5 4690k
GPU: Zotac GTX 1060 6GB
PSU: Seasonic 550w Fully Modular
MoBo: Asus Z97-K
RAM : Hyper X Fury 2X4GB 1866Mhz(?)

Solution
Would it be okay to ask what would be the best budget Ryzen as of the moment?
Price to performance I'd say the Ryzen 2600 for like $120.

This is probably the best price to features motherboard out there. It has Wifi/Bluetooth for an excellent price and the BIOS was easy to navigate and to get XMP to work (recently did a build with this board).

PCPartPicker Part List
Motherboard: ASRock B450M/AC Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard ($84.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $84.99
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2020-01-21 14:43 EST-0500

Ryzen performs noticeably better with fast memory so 2x8gb @3200 is ideal. I've used this kit in my current build (Ryzen...

WildCard999

Titan
Which games?

Spec wise the 8gb memory and 4 core CPU may have difficulty running newer FPS/Open world style games.

If you haven't yet, overclocking the CPU could help.

Reactions: saulsilver82
Jan 21, 2020
Your system seems to be pretty well balanced. Usually it is the gpu which has the biggest effect on fps/performance. Your system IS a bit old, but not too bad, it is just not very "high end" so you may not get very high fps on the latest games. Also, bottlenecking is pretty much impossible to avoid, however it can be minimized by more equal components (in the same price range per se).

saulsilver82

Prominent
Jan 21, 2020
Which games?

Spec wise the 8gb memory and 4 core CPU may have difficulty running newer FPS/Open world style games.

If you haven't yet, overclocking the CPU could help.