[SOLVED] What do I need to run RGB fans?

Oct 14, 2020
Hi everyone

I need help on choosing what to purchase. I am upgrading my pc and with that comes a new case and I want RGB fans in. It is the first time I am putting RGB fans in and I am a complete RGB noob.

First of I have 2 options on what I want to choose for cases since both of them comes with RGB fans included. It is between the Antec NX240 and Evetech TRIO (I want to put in 2 Coolermaster MasterFan MF140R into the TRIO to complete it and I know that 8 fans is a bit much).

I currently have a Asus Prime B450M-K motherboard and it doesn't have a RGB header and from what it looks like, only one head for fans. What will I need to run the RGB lights and control it?

I also thought about upgrading my motherboard to the Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming and use aura sync, but I still don't know what accessories to buy to connect all the fans. If I do end up taking this motherboard I want all the fans to be on one RGB header if possible so that I can use LED strips on the other header in the future.

Reactions: Vxinity
Solution
I recommend buying the NX240 since both the MF140R and the NX240's already pre-installed fans are Addressable RGBs and not just normal RGBs. For the accessory, getting an aRGB (Addressable RGB) hub and another PWM fan hub (for your fans, of course to reduce the time it takes to build your PC) OR a mixture of them both, a PWM and aRGB hub. You can control the hub using a remote (if it has one), buttons on the hub itself, or the Aurasync (Asus exclusive feature). Lastly, I strongly recommend the idea of upgrading to the Asus ROG Strix B450-F motherboard since your current B450M-K motherboard doesn't have any RGB and more importantly, aRGB headers, which you will need if you want your fans to light up with your desired colors.
Oct 14, 2020