[SOLVED] What do you think of my build?

fpsduif

Commendable
Oct 24, 2017
Hi guys!

My pc is now two years old and is ready for a little upgrade. This summer I've made some good money so I've got some left to throw in my pc.

My current system is as follows:
  • i5 6600k
  • GTX 970
  • Z170 pro gaming Motherboard
  • 2X4 gb ram (3000 Mhz clock speed)
  • 256 gb ssd
  • 2tb hdd

I want to keep my current setup with the following additions:
  • RTX 2070 Super
  • i7 8700k
  • 2x8 gb ram (3200 Mhz clock speed)

Do you think this is a wise choice? would you do something different? any problems with compatibility between the components?

Please let me know :)

Solution
I have an CoolerMaster GM 550M. also, what do you mean with reusing the GPU and storage drives?
Just saying the bits that are easily reusable are GPU and storage drives. You are upgrading the GPU so you won't need to. However you will probably want to clean reinstall windows if you resuse the storage drive with the new hardware.

Also whilst the Super 2070 can run of a good quality 550W, however the GM is not great quality, so you may want to upgrade to a good quality 650W which clears NVIDIA recommendations too.

Obviously as stated above, you will need to upgrade motherboard too, and from my perspective, also upgrade PSU to better quality otherwise you risk instability and risk to the rest of the system as 550W can sometimes...

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
I have an CoolerMaster GM 550M. also, what do you mean with reusing the GPU and storage drives?
Just saying the bits that are easily reusable are GPU and storage drives. You are upgrading the GPU so you won't need to. However you will probably want to clean reinstall windows if you resuse the storage drive with the new hardware.

Also whilst the Super 2070 can run of a good quality 550W, however the GM is not great quality, so you may want to upgrade to a good quality 650W which clears NVIDIA recommendations too.