[SOLVED] What does nVME (Sata) slot mean in a manual?

May 1, 2020
I was going to get an another SSD for my laptop, i know it has two slots for the M.2 stick SSD's but i checked the manual to be sure and it says one of the slots is named NVMe (Sata) instead of just NVMe.

Is there something i'm missing ? Can't something like Samsung's 860 M.2 SSD fit there? Do i need a specific one?

Solution
Right, so i should be fine with it functioning with any type of M.2 SSD that i get right?

I'm completely new to those multiple diffrent types of M.2 SSD's, gets a little confusing at first with no first hand experience, the one that came pre installed was a 256 GB PCI Express for example, i think those are significantly faster than the SATA ones since those are limited to 6 gbps.
Any type? Maybe.
The wording of "NVMe (Sata) " is a bit confusing.
But if it came with a 256GB PCIe drive initially, thn tht is what you replace it with, for a larger drive.

Samsung 970 EVO, Crucial P1, Intel 660p, for instance.
May 1, 2020
Ahh, so one slot can support both an M.2 NVMe and M.2 Sata right?

Either.
1 drive of either type, not 2 drives.

Right, so as far as i understand i should be fine with it functioning with any type of M.2 SSD that i get or do i have to go with an M.2 SATA?

I'm completely new to those multiple diffrent types of M.2 SSD's, gets a little confusing at first with no first hand experience, the one that came pre installed was a 256 GB PCI Express for example, i think those are significantly faster than the SATA ones since those are limited to 6 gbps.

Last edited:

USAFRet

Titan
Right, so i should be fine with it functioning with any type of M.2 SSD that i get right?

Any type? Maybe.
But if it came with a 256GB PCIe drive initially, thn tht is what you replace it with, for a larger drive.

Reactions: King_V
Solution
May 1, 2020
Any type? Maybe.

Yeah it sure is confusing, but looking around i think it is just a slot that supports NVMe and SATA SSD's like you said.