What Exactly Is Imaging a Disk and How Does It Differ from Backing Up?

JamesAllen

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2011
I have a brand new home-built PC and it has been suggested to me that I "image the disk." This is my first build, and I only started learning about computer a few months ago, so when I came across this term I turned to my best friend Google. After she couldn't really help me I decided to turn back to you guys and girls. So what exactly is imaging a disk? From what I can gather, it is executed by one of many applications available to make a bootable copy of the OS, but everything else is a little fuzzy.

1. What can I write this image to (DVD, flash-drive, external HDD)?
2. What does the image include (OS, BIOS, MoBo drivers, hardware drivers, apps, general data)?
3. Do I still need to do a data backup?
4. How large is a disk image (what size storage will I need)?
5. What application performs this function best?
6. Is it bootable, and if so, what from (DVD, HDD, flash-drive)?

Thanks!

Solution
An "image" differs from a normal "backup" in that the "image" is essentially a monolithic snapshot of the entire disk including all of the control structures (such as the partition table and the bootstrap loader) that are outside the normal file system.

Images are important for the OS disk because the OS requires those extra control structures to be able to boot and do it's work - but regular backups are also important because they let you restore an individual file. If you accidentally a file you don't want to have to restore the entire disk to the state of last week's backup just to get the file back.

Image backups contain all the data on the disk (typically the OS disk), and because it's many many gigabytes you usually make them...

rgs80074

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2010
basically and i am sure someone else woudl have more tech information or good programs for it.

while i think there are varying degree's of imaging a disc i could be wrong.