Question What Graphics Card should I get?

MarkAchilles

Prominent
Jul 29, 2019
Right Now in my current build my specs are 8gbs of DDR4, I5-9400f, 520w psu, ASRock Z390 pro4, and an gtx 1050 ti. I can run most games at 60-120 fps on medium to low graphics. But their are some gpu intensive games I can not play at a sustainable fps. I bought my current GPU 2years ago for about $150 and it has worked well for a pretty budget build. But for the last few months I've been meaning to buy a new gpu but I am unable to because of the current stock of new 30 series video cards. Right now im looking for a video card for about $300-$450, is it possible to buy a good card right now in the current market for that price? I personally have no idea whether I should switch to AMD or stay at Nvdia (I have no knowledge of how AMD cards even work, like how they are numbered or their specs). What card should I consider buying for my budget, or should I wait to maybe Nvdia comes back into stock or consider buy an 20series RTX.

Thanks

you can't buy a "good" card right now at any sane price unless you are extremely lucky and happen upon a local retailer that has just updated stock.
or you may have a very slight chance of happening upon an online retailer that may have a card available if you constantly prowl multiple e-stores.

some older options(GTX 1000\2000 series or AMD RX 5000 series) are available at Amazon, eBay, and other used dealers but the majority of them are 3-4x the original MSRP. and there's really no way to tell how "used" they are.

i doubt you'd find anything for anywhere near $300-450.

Reactions: Bassman999

novus111

Commendable
Feb 15, 2021
buy a 3080, they are very good. i've ordered mine 4 months ago and i haven't given up hope that i'll actually receive it before christmas! i'm looking forward to playing world of warcraft with 500fps, apparently it becomes like matrix bullet-time.