Question What is possible with HDMI in home multimedia? HDCP ARC...

maximdelaet

Reputable
Oct 31, 2015
Hi everyone,

Despite being a network engineer at Cisco, I am a complete noob within the space of multimedia. I know the basic differences between HDMI and DP and the different versions within HDMI, I also know the basics in 4K Video and Audio. But I lack some basic knowledge to understand how HDMI can be used at this point and what impact HDCP and ARC have on this. Although a lot of info can be found online, the real answers to my questions seem to be hidden away, let's hope I can get them here.

Let's imagine the following scenario's:
1: media player connected to receiver connected to tv
2: receiver connected to media player with dual hdmi connected to tv
3: media player connected to tv connected to receiver
4: home network as media source connected to tv connected to receiver
5: home network as media source connected to receiver connected to tv

Let's discuss the following aspects:
1: Where is the audio and video put together in a container and stripped from eachother?
2: Where is the audio and or video encrypted and decrypted (HDCP --> each hop/beginning and ending/different versions?
3: In what way do ARC and eARC improve this situation?

Basically I would like to know what HDMI can do in these situation and where it lacks certain capabilities (or what it is designed for and what not). I would like someone to explain me this based on what happens with the data flow from source to destination, forgive me for being so network oriented in the way I try to understand this. :)

Standard hookup is: Sources -----(assume HDMI)-----> AVR ------(HDMI again)-------> TV.

This is the "network" view: