What is the best I can hope for?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manji022

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2010
An odd question, I know. I recently got canned from my job (cheaper labor really is a threat to your job it turns out) and can not afford a new system.

What I want to know is if I should build a new system (really just throw in a new mobo and cpu) or if i can squeeze some new gaming good times from my current rig.

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+

Mobo:
0HY175 A02 (its a ref number used by Dell, I dont know what my mobo is sadly)

Memory:
5120 Dual Channel DDR2 (more than the mobo can use)

Graphics card:
9800gt XLR8 edition 512MB GDDR3 256bits
Core clock 550MHz
Shader clock 1375 MHz
Memory clock 900MHz

I have done some research and can upgrade the cpu to a AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ it seems, but is that going to be enough for gaming at the highest settings? Should I get a new mobo for a better processor?

Any ideas would be great since I am new at building systems. I OC my stuff and all but when it comes to starting from scratch I am a total newb :)

I can run Fallout 3 at max settings and it runs smooth but crysis makes my system contemplate suicide at max settings if that helps.

Also, there is a much more detailed description of my system in my profile, an entire cpuid report in fact lol.

Solution