What is the fastest Video card for.....

moed

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2005
I was wondering if there is any guru out there that knows of the fastest video card with the largest amount of VRAM that was ever made to work on the AGP 1.0 spec.

In other words, what's the best all-around G Card ever made to work on the original AGP 1.0 spec.

The reason I ask is because I am a tech and a private client of mine (an older gentleman that DOES NOT for some reason of his own, want to buy a newer system with the latest and greatest) wants to upgrade his G Card to the fastest possible and his system happens to have an AGP 1.0 slot.

I have access to a few mom & pop computer stores that may have one of those cards for a very cheap price. This client insists that "that is all I need" as far as his system needs go.

bluntside

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2006
You might want to try the ati 9600xt ot the 9800 xt, I believe that they have sm1.0, they are the best original cards made from ati. First, try the 9600xt, if no luck, try the 9800 xt. I owned that card for several years and it has never failed on me. even on high intense games, it still performes well. :wink:

moed

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2005
Thanks for the tips. Unfortunately, the motherboard is an off-brand proprietary one that only has 2(!!) PCI slots and they're filled up with peripherals that the client absolutely needs (he has a SOHO).

And even if he did have an open PCI slot, even though those suggested PCI cards are of much newer generation than his AGP configuration, the PCI bus is significantly slower than the max AGP 2x that is capable of the AGP 1.0 spec.

Yes, I know that an older AGP 1.0 compatable card may not be DirectX 9 capable, but this client needs decent graphics but the highest graphics I/O speed possible. And hopefully the ability to also impliment a minimum of 2x FSAA and Aniso filtering.

Any more suggestions?

cleeve

Illustrious
Don't get hung up on the bus, it's the chipset that counts.