[SOLVED] What is water cooling?

Jul 22, 2019
Hi everyone. I am a beginner in PC building. So I saw some posts regarding Water Cooling PC and decided to ask some questions about that.

What is Water Cooling?
How Effecient is it in contrast to Wind(Fans)?
How to water cool my PC?
What are the requirements of Water cooling my PC or equipment required?
How much boost in performance or overclocking can I expect after water cooling?

Thanks in advance.

Solution
Welcome to the forums my friend!

What is Water Cooling?
Basically, where air cooling is a mechanism to draw heat through a heatsink, for a fan to then extract the heat from the component. Water Cooling, instead of a fan extracting this heat, cold water absorbs the heat, which a pump then cycles the now heated water up through the cooling unit, to a radiator, which then has fans that extract the heat directly outside of the case, then pumps cool water back down to the component.

There are 2 types of water cooling, AIO (All in one) and Custom Loops. AIO are the typical full water coolers you buy online, that have everything attached together in one unit.

AIO - not very...

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
Welcome to the forums my friend!

What is Water Cooling?
Basically, where air cooling is a mechanism to draw heat through a heatsink, for a fan to then extract the heat from the component. Water Cooling, instead of a fan extracting this heat, cold water absorbs the heat, which a pump then cycles the now heated water up through the cooling unit, to a radiator, which then has fans that extract the heat directly outside of the case, then pumps cool water back down to the component.

There are 2 types of water cooling, AIO (All in one) and Custom Loops. AIO are the typical full water coolers you buy online, that have everything attached together in one unit.