[SOLVED] What Linux distro to use? I am a beginner to linux and I have an old PC.

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Status
Not open for further replies.

KKMasterYT

Prominent
Apr 4, 2019
Hello all. So today, I have thought today of changing to Linux cause my hardware is going too old overtime very quickly and isn't capable of running Windows 10 at a very good speed with the best performance settings applied possibly that I can change... So that's the reason I am now wanting to switch to Linux.

But here, the problem is that I am totally a newbie to Linux, that I don't know about any commands and what they do. And it is also worth mentioning that I have a very old PC that is not very good. So I want a lightweight Linux distribution made for beginners.

I expect these features:
-) Has a desktop environment out-of-the-box
-) Is easy to install apps ie. has an app store (like Gnome Software)
-) Doesn't need to type commands for daily usage (Uninstalling apps, Update settings, Get reports of hardware, etc..)
-) Is very lightweight in resource consumption

My PC's specifications are:
-) Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 Dual-Core Processor clocked at 2.00GhZ
-) 2GB DDR2-333MhZ RAM
-) 256MB Intel 82945G Express Chipset Family
-) 160GB 7200RPM Seagate Barracuda HDD (To be honest, I am not willing to cheap out on storage to install the OS, more information below)
-) 1366x768@60Hz Resolution support

So what I will be doing first is, I will install the distro you recommended aside Windows 10 for Dual Booting and if I am satisfied, I will clean install my PC with the Linux distro. So I want a Linux Distro that is good for beginners and is lightweight! I recommend any distro that is around 4GB of size but not higher than 5GB.

Thank you,
Best,
Krish KM.

Solution
Guys, leave the old topics. So is Lubuntu good to go for me as a beginner?
Yes
-) 2GB DDR2-333MhZ RAM