What Part/Parts Should I Upgrade?

JustOneAndDone

Reputable
Nov 1, 2015
I am fairly new to PC Gaming and i'm still trying to get a REALLY GOOD Gaming PC. I would like to know, what parts I should upgrade next?

My current PC Specs:

-Intel Core i5-4460 Processor
-Stock Intel CPU Cooler
-MSI H81M-E35 V2 (MS-7817)
-4,096 MB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1,598 MHz (2 Ram Stick) (8GB Total)
-1TB Hard Drive
-500GB Hard Drive
-Sapphire TOXIC AMD Radeon R9 280X
-Corsair 750 Watt CS750M 80+ Modular Power Supply
-DIYPC Zondda-O Black/Orange Mid-Tower

Thank you.

Solution
Installing your OS on an SSD will give you the most perceived performance across the board (starting your computer, response of apps, loading times in games). I prefer an SSD large enough to hold my games as well, but you will gain plenty of performance from using a smaller SSD for your OS and putting your games on a hard drive if your budget doesn't allow for a larger SSD.

If you want higher frame rates or to be able to turn up the eye candy on games you can't run at max, then upgrade the graphics card. Using Tomshardware's hierarchy chart will be a good and easy way to help you decide what to get.

Everything else in your system is more than adequate - but I would upgrade the quantity of RAM to 8 GB. This may help with loading times...

Marcus52

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2008
Installing your OS on an SSD will give you the most perceived performance across the board (starting your computer, response of apps, loading times in games). I prefer an SSD large enough to hold my games as well, but you will gain plenty of performance from using a smaller SSD for your OS and putting your games on a hard drive if your budget doesn't allow for a larger SSD.

If you want higher frame rates or to be able to turn up the eye candy on games you can't run at max, then upgrade the graphics card. Using Tomshardware's hierarchy chart will be a good and easy way to help you decide what to get.