Question What potential problems could be happening on my WISP's end?

Feb 27, 2019
I get my internet through a WISP and have a lot of issues with them. They are a very small and shitty company so its expected. Anyway I have had constant ping spikes while playing online games. These problems where occurring 24/7 for about 3 months straight. I came here for help and we did everything to fix it and determined the problem was on their end. One day the lag just went away and I have been gaming online for 4 months without any problems even though I didn't change anything.

Last week the problem came back. Even though everything is the same here the ping spikes have been consistent 24/7 for the past week.

What are some of the things that could been happening on their end that is causing this? What can be done? How long will this last?

I would go through the details on my set up but that has already been ruled out as a potential cause in the past. And like i said... internet work, then it didn't, then it did, now it doesn't again and nothing changed here. Only one of my devices is connected at a time.

It is not likely inside your house. You can test by using ethernet which is almost impossible to have any latency. You would then ping some common ip address like 8.8.8.8. If you really wanted to find it you could run tracert to 8.8.8.8 and ping each hop in the trace. It really depends if the spike is happening between your house and the tower or father into their network. They many times connect tower to tower with wifi radio also.