What should I do with my Dimension 2400?

Overcklockalypse

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010
I recently recieved a Dimension 2400 for free. A family member's business had depreciated it and offered it to him and he gave it to me because the HDD failed. I was planning on getting a PCI internal SATA card and replacing the HDD with a SATA drive. Which one I really don't know yet. (Newegg reviews make it seem as if none are reliable anymore) I am currently a Networking student and I'm kinda lookin to make this into a personal project. Is there anything else anyone can think of to use this thing as that might be of some use? The only thing that comes to mind is to make it a home network data center although it can only hold 2 3.5" drives. Could I use it as a proxy server?

Some specs:
200W PSU
2.4ghz Celeron
1GB PC2700 RAM (2GB max)
3 PCI

For more detailed specs click here.

As a sidenote I wouldn't mind putting some money into this thing if the benefit is good enough.

rockyjohn

Distinguished
Only by treating it as a hobby project can you justify putting any money into it. On a practical level, you would be miles ahead by saving the money and using it to by a cheap $300 - 350 pc on sale at a local computer store or picking up something cheap - but much later model on eBay.

Do you have the OS disc so you can reload it on another drive? What OS do you hve?

It might work as a cheap data server - in which case I would just an ATA drive for it - it is almost as fast as SATA 1.0 and I doubt the controller will be fast enough to use the speeds of SATA 2.0 or the newer HDs.

Overcklockalypse

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2010

I don't currently have an OS on it because the HDD is broken, nor do I have a OS cd; however, I can get nearly any mainstream OS for free or some large discount through school. On hand all I have is a Linux Ubuntu CD. I'm completely open to suggestions on an OS.