Question What should I upgrade for 3440×1440 WQHD gaming ?

skuee

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2013
Hello everyone!
I'm was mostly happy with my computer until earlier this year once I started playing Diablo 4 and Path of Exile. I'm playing on a 3440 x 1440 144hz monitor WQHD (AOC CU34G2X 34) and got quite used to it, especially when I'm not playing games. I also have another AOC 24G2U 144hz plugged into my system as my 2nd monitor. When I switch to the 24" AOC, I see huge fps improvements and everything feels quite smoother compared to WQHD. So here is my question, what kind of an upgrade would I need for playing online multiplayer games smoothly on my WQHD monitor? Would it solve my fps issues completely if I were to upgrade to a better gpu? I would also request you to keep in mind that I'm from Turkey with a pretty bad economy, so my budget is kind of limited. I would like to keep it under 1500usd if possible.

My Current Spec ;

CPU i5 8600K (running at 4300Mhz - 43x100Mhz)
Mainboard TUF Z370-Plus Gaming
RAM 32GB ( 2 sets of Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2x8) 3000MHz DDR4 CL16 so it is 4x8 )

It is 2 sets of 2x16 because I had to upgrade from 16 to 32 at some point but couldn't afford a 2x16 set
GPU Asus ROG Strix RTX 2060 6GB OC
PSU Corsair 750W

DISPLAY 1 (Main) AOC CU34G2X 3440x1440
DISPLAY 2 (Secondary) AOC 24G2U 1920x1080

As you might have noticed, my spec is kind of old and would mind a complete overhaul but if possible to fix it by simply upgrading my GPU alone, that would help me a lot. I'll have a better budget at the end of this year to upgrade the rest of my system (cpu/mobo/ram etc).

Thanks in advance for reading my problem and I hope you are having a great day.

Colif

Win 11 Master
Its the gpu, its not really a 4k card. It makes sense it can run 1080p easy but 4k is 4x the size. I had a 2070 Super, it couldn't run my 144hz 1440p monitor at max in games, let alone a 4k 144hz monitor.

Is that budget just for a GPU or entire system?