What the.... OCer look here

RolandC

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2003
WTF... ok ok, I'm not that techincal in comps so this may just be a stupid question but i recently bought a new comp, P4 2.66 and a GA-8SQ800 Ultra. Me and my friend (who assembled the comp with me) were just running thru the usual, you know installing office and windows, etc. when suddenly the POST said "Pentium 4 2.00GHZ (15*133)" upon futher inspection after it, successfully booted into windows (1st try), in the windows system tab it said "Intel Pentium 2.66 -one line down- 2.00GHZ" wtf?? this was getting really strange. nethier me or my friend had encounted this problem before, prior to this i've never built comps before but he builds them for a living.
But wait there's more! me and my friend went into the motherboard's award bios and CHANGED THE MULTIPLIER to 20X and after that?? 2.66GHZ no probs?? I've even comfirmed the speed and model with CPU-Z. my friend told me that "it's probably just your motherboard's bios has special abilities" but every thing else i've read tells me that the P4s IGNORE any multipier command the motherboard gives it. So then how can this be? am i just wrong? Could my friend be right??
the only other lead of got on it is that my friend is the general manager of a wholesale chain (it's won't be good for his companies image if i released the chain's name because selling to me could quallify as "direct to public" not something a wholesaler is meant to do and so therefore i won't). he is the one that sold me the P4, it was an Ex-demo model. could it then mean that they specially unlocked the mutiplier for this model?

Look I don't know much about this stuff so i'm asking for your help. any advice you can give me will be appricated.
Thx in advance

vk2amv

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2002