What type of cooling should I have for my computer?

KylonM

Reputable
Sep 14, 2015
Sorry, but I am a bit new to building computers. Here's what I know I'm going to put into my computer:

i7 4790k devils canyon quad core
msi 970 gaming 4g
16gb gskill ripjaws x
msi z97 gaming mobo
corsair 750w 80+ bronze certified (just incase of future upgrades & there's a great deal on newegg)
nzxt phantom 410 tower

my question is: I'm not going to be overclocking (atleast for a while), but I will be doing CPU intensive things like 3d rendering, video editing blah blah. Should I add more fans to my cpu, or is the 3 that it comes with good enough? and if you feel like i should add water cooling, why? (from what i've read, this tower is really good for water cooling set-up and it looks cool, but why else?)

Solution
A few things...

CPU + MB - If you aren't going to overclock, look toward the H97 platform with the Xeon 1231 V3. This is very much the same CPU as the 4790k, just clocked slightly lower and without integrated graphics.
CASE - If you ever plan to add a high end GPU, the Phantom 410 won't fit 12" cards like the GTX 980 / R9 390.
PSU - That Corsair CX 750w is a fairly poor PSU. You get what you pay for in this space and that is a cheap unit... Look toward XFX or Seasonic, EVGA's G2 lineup, or filter through the Tier 1 or Tier 2 list..
www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-2547993/psu-tier-list.html
COOLING - Without overclocking you aren't really building up much heat so a single front intake fan and single rear exhaust will be fine. When...

Mattios

Honorable
You only really need watercooling for overclocking or for looks, neither of which you care about. The stock cooler with the CPU will be fine, although if it fits get something like a Hyper 212 Evo.

I'd get one more 120mm front fan and a side one and you'll be fine.

A few things...